News Centre

Sporting success celebrated at Sport Caerphilly awards evening

Posted on : 17 Nov 2022

Sporting success celebrated at Sport Caerphilly awards evening
The annual Sport Caerphilly Sport Awards has once again proved an inspirational evening by celebrating the achievements of sportsmen and women within Caerphilly County Borough.

Held at Bryn Meadows in Maesycwmmer – volunteers, coaches and clubs received awards for their outstanding contributions to sport in the County Borough.

The evening started with a powerful speech from BBC TV and radio presenter Jason Mohammad. Special guests Tanni Grey-Thompson and Olympian Lauren Price were also in attendance.

The awards ceremony began by unveiling the winners of the young volunteer of the year and volunteer of the year. William Phillips won the Aaron Ramsey Foundation Young Volunteer of the Year Award for his dedication to Blackwood Cricket Club. Meanwhile, Emma Chalk won the Sport Caerphilly Volunteer of the Year.

Jonathan Morgan took home the Phylyp Butler Memorial Cup Inclusive Coach of the Year Award, recognising an outstanding contribution to providing opportunities for disabled and non-disabled players to engage with Tennis. The Dragons RFC Community Coach of the Year award was also won by Jonathan Morgan. Following this, the efforts of three volunteers for the Disability Sport Volunteering Scheme were recognised for their dedication to our leisure centres. Chris Cox, Sam Preece and Tomos Hooper were all awarded for their efforts.

The Langstone Safety and Workwear Club of the Year was a difficult category to call, but by the finest of margins Caerphilly Tennis Club were chosen as worthy winners for their impact in the local community with almost 400 members.

Three residents were honoured with the Caerphilly County Borough Council Lifetime Achievement to Sport award – Claire Chetland, Gareth Davis and David Gardiner. The final award of the evening was the eagerly anticipated Sport Wales Sport Personality of the Year award. Contested by Gavin Gwynne, Gerwyn Price, Natasha Harding and Lauren Price – a total of 4,126 votes were cast to confirm the winner. Lauren Price was awarded the prize having recently won Olympic Gold in Tokyo and turning professional this year.

Cabinet Member for Leisure, Cllr Chris Morgan commented, “The Sport Caerphilly Sport Awards continues to inspire and reward generations of hard work, patience and creativity within coaches who continue to give their all to provide opportunities for sport to grow within Caerphilly County Borough.”

“I was delighted to see that the hard work of volunteers, coaches and the various teams involved were being rewarded. I was impressed by the professional way in which the event was organised and run by our in-house team, they did a fantastic job. Lastly, I would like to thank all of the local businesses that help support this event. Without the support of local businesses, we would be unable to run this event that inspires and recognises the effort of Caerphilly’s sportspeople.”

Full list of winners:
Aaron Ramsey Young Volunteer of the Year: William Phillips
Sport Caerphilly Volunteer of the Year: Emma Chalk
Phylyp Butler Memorial Cup Inclusive Coach of the Year: Jonathan Morgan
Dragons RFC Community Coach of the Year: Jonathan Morgan
Langstone Safety & Workwear Club of the Year: Caerphilly Tennis Club
CCBC Lifetime Achievements to Sport: Claire Chetland, Gareth Davis & David Gardiner
Sport Wales Sport Personality of the Year: Lauren Price

Please click here to view the professional photographs.

Media Enquiries